Young the Giant

Photos by Merideth C. & review by Dave G.

Young the Giant consists of Sameer Gadhia on vocals and keyboard, Jacob Tilley and Eric Cannata on guitar, Payam Doostzadeh on bass, and François Comtois on drums. While their style is pretty straight forward alternative rock, these guys play incredibly tightly and never miss a beat. They are very talented and really have something special that elevates their sound. It was awesome to hear many of the songs adapted for their live show with longer intros and interesting transitions into other songs. They take their time and get the most out of every minute of the show.

It’s always enjoyable to hear a band play live and have the music sound as good as the album. On March 8 at The Fillmore, Young the Giant sounded as good as their album, and then some! Sameer has such strong and recognizable vocals that aren’t diminished in any way on stage. If anything, there seems to be more passion live. It feels like he pushes himself more and it sounds amazing. Combined with his energy and dancing, Sameer pulls the audience in very quickly. It’s impossible not to have a good time.

I have been to a lot of shows at The Fillmore and this is one of the biggest crowds I have ever seen play there. I didn’t realize how big Young the Giant had gotten over the last few years. Their fans were clearly very into the show and were singing and dancing along with all of the songs. Be sure to check them out next time they come to town; they are not to be missed!

Don’t forget to “like” us on facebook and follow us on twitter for live updates from shows and to see what shows we’ll be covering next!

Set List

  1. Slow Drive
  2. Anagram
  3. It's About Time
  4. I Got
  5. Eros
  6. Guns Out
  7. Waves
  8. Teachers
  9. Firelight
  10. Strings
  11. Paralysis
  12. Camera
  13. Cough Syrup
  14. Crystallized Encore:
  15. Apartment
  16. Mind Over Matter
  17. My Body

Find out more about Young the Giant