The Verve Pipe

Photos by Merideth C. & Review by Dave G.

Like most people between their mid-20’s and mid-30’s, The Verve Pipe holds a special place in my heart. We all remember their hit single “The Freshman,” which remains one of my all-time favorite songs. I was a freshman in high school when the album “Villians” was released, so “The Freshman” was particularly poignant for me.

Having the opportunity to see them play live at the Green Street Fair in Plymouth, MI was a unique and wonderful experience, not only for me, but also for my whole family. The Verve Pipe played an all ages, family friendly show featuring mostly songs from their album “A Family Album.”

The crowd ranged from the very young, to the old, and everywhere in between. The kids particularly enjoyed the songs from “A Family Album” like “Cereal,” “Be Part of a Band,” and “Suppertime!” The adults, aside from enjoying watching their children dance, were happiest to hear “The Freshman” toward the end of the 12-song set. Most of the other non-family songs were from their last studio release, 2001’s “Underneath.”

The band seems to really enjoy playing a set like this. The energy and smiles from the stage were infectious in the crowd. After the show, while loading up equipment, band members stopped to talk with fans and sign autographs. It was clear that they genuinely appreciate their fans, both young and old. This was a really fun show and I’m sure it will serve as an awesome preview for their next rock shows in Kalamazoo on June 2nd and Mt. Pleasant on June 7. If you can’t make it out of town, be sure to check them out for another all ages show on July 18 at “Wild Summer Nights at the Detroit Zoo.”

Also, be on the lookout for a new album from The Verve Pipe some time this year. According to lead singer Brian Vander Ark, the album is “almost ready.” We’ll be sure to write a review when it comes out!

Don’t forget to “like” us on facebook and follow us on twitter for live updates from shows and to see what shows we’ll be covering next!

Set List

Download songs from this set list by clicking the iTunes icon!

  1. Never Let You Down Never Let You Down - Underneath
  2. Wake Up Wake Up - A Family Album
  3. Complimentary Love Complimentary Love - A Family Album
  4. Only Words Only Words - Underneath
  5. Be a Part of the Band Be Part Of The Band - A Family Album
  6. You Can Write a Song
  7. Colorful Colorful - Underneath
  8. Suppertime! Suppertime! - A Family Album
  9. Happiness Is Happiness Is - Underneath
  10. The Freshmen The Freshmen - Villains
  11. Cereal Cereal - A Family Album
  12. All You Need is Love (The Beatles Cover)

Find out more about The Verve Pipe