With Papa Roach

Photos and review by Merideth C.

Seether and Papa Roach may not approach hard rock in the same way; Seether being more subdued and melancholy, Papa Roach more energetic and excited. What they have in common a love for playing rock and roll on stage for their fans. The show the played together at The Fillmore is part of a co-headlining tour in support of Seether’s recent album “Isolate and Medicate” and Papa Roach’s upcoming album “F.E.A.R.”, which is set to be released on January 27.

Seether took the stage first among the headliners after opening acts Islander and Kyng warmed the crowd up. The South African foursome started a 12 song set with hit song “Gasoline”. The rest of the set was a mix of hits like “Fine Again,” “Country Song,” “Fake It,” and encore “Remedy,” and songs from their new album like “Words as Weapons,” “Same Damn Life,” and “My Disaster.” The crowd sang along to all of the hit songs and seem to really enjoy the new stuff as well.

The crowd went completely nuts when Papa Roach took the stage and lead singer Jacoby Shaddix shouted “What’s up Detroit?” into the microphone. The mood in the room was jubilant the whole 15 song set, both on stage and in the crowd. Jacoby never stopped moving around the stage and fans jumped around, crowd-surfed, and sang along to nearly every song. The set was broadcast live on Yahoo! and Jacoby made several references through the night to the millions of viewers watching from around the world. As expected, the band hit every one of their hits including “Scars,” “Getting Away With Murder,” “Between Angels and Insects,” and “Last Resort,” which ended the night. They only played two songs from their upcoming album, “Face Everything and Rise” and “Broken as Me.”

This was a really fun show to be at. These two bands go really well together and likely picked up a few new fans between them.

Don’t forget to “like” us on facebook and follow us on twitter for live updates from shows and to see what shows we’ll be covering next!

Set List

Download songs from this set list by clicking the iTunes icon!

  1. Gasoline
  2. Rise Above This
  3. Fine Again
  4. Broken
  5. My Disaster
  6. Words as Weapons
  7. Same Damn Life
  8. Country Song
  9. Save Today
  10. Tonight
  11. Fake It Encore:
  12. Remedy

Find out more about Seether