With: Rob Zombie and In This Moment

Photos by Merideth C. and review by Joe Colburn

On what threatened to be a stormy Sunday night in Clarkston, Michigan, a sold out DTE Energy Music Theater buzzed with the anticipation of some 15,000+ fans of In This Moment, Korn, and Rob Zombie. Starting the show at around 6:30 was In This Moment, who I'd previously not heard but I was quickly drawn in by "Slick Like Me" with its alternating hard rock and haunting vocals. Led by frontwoman, Maria Brink, In This Moment got the masses on our feet and kept us standing and cheering. ITM's fans screamed for "Black Widow" and "Blood" to finish up a set complete with what I thought was perhaps the best stage performance of the evening.

Taking the stage next was the slightly more seasoned Korn with a mix of tracks for the first half of the set delivered with the energy we've come to expect from the band. Vocalist Jonathan Davis made sure to plug their new album, “The Serenity of Suffering”, and played "Rotting in Vain" to give us a taste. Half way through the show, Davis brought out the bagpipes, which could barely be heard under the cheering of a fired up crowd who knew what was coming. I felt like it was 1994 again as the mumbly screaming of "Shoots and Ladders" poured out of DTE's speakers and then blended into a well-accepted cover of Metallica's iconic "One". The nostalgia continued for the remainder of Korn's set as they sated the crowd with tracks from the 90's. Davis asked if that's what we wanted and I guess we all screamed loudly enough for it.

Rounding out this stop on the 2016 Return of the Dreads tour was Rob Zombie who opened his set with "Dead City Radio and the New Gods of Supertown", "Superbeast", and "In the Age of the Consecrated Vampire We All Get High". The next track was a mix of Rob talking and his take on a cover of Tone‐Lōc's "Wild Thing", during which he spoke of having no sleep for two days, being high like thousands in the crowd, and his love for performing in Detroit. During the Rob Zombie set, a demon-like figure, standing some 15 feet tall lumbered out onto the stage to share it with Rob. The rest of this set consisted of a blend of classics like "Living Dead Girl" and "Dragula", newer tracks like "Well, Everybody's Fucking in a U.F.O.", and a couple more covers.

This was a great show all around. The three powerful, energy-filled sets stimulated both aurally and visually, which I can't help but think might have scared away the rain.

Don’t forget to “like” us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and follow us on Instagram for live updates from shows and to see what shows we’ll be covering next!

Set List

Download songs from this set list by clicking the iTunes icon!

  1. Right Now
  2. Here to Stay
  3. Rotting in Vain
  4. Somebody Someone
  5. Did My Time
  6. Coming Undone
  7. Y'All Want a Single
  8. Make Me Bad
  9. Shoots and Ladders
  10. Blind
  11. Twist
  12. Got the Life
  13. Falling Away From Me
  14. Freak on a Leash

Find out more about Korn