With special guests: Goo Goo Dolls and Plain White T's

Photos by Merideth C. & Review by Dave G.

The 4th of July weekend got off to an awesome start on Wednesday July 2, 2014 at DTE Energy Music Theatre with the Goo Goo Dolls and Daughtry. Plain White T’s opened the show. They played a short set of their hits as the crowd was filling in. Daughtry, who got his start on “American Idol,” played next. As the crowd grew larger and larger, Daughtry rocked an hour long set of his hits and many of the songs from his latest album “Baptized.” Daughtry is an amazing performer. He is very engaging and fun to watch. You could hear a lot of people singing along and could tell that Daughtry has some big fans in Detroit.

By the time the Goo Goo Dolls took the stage, the amphitheater was completely packed. There wasn’t an open spot anywhere on the lawn or pavilion. The Goo Goo Dolls, whose main members are lead singer and guitarist John Rzeznick and Bassist Robby Takac, powered through a 90 minute set which never let up. They managed to pack in 20 songs in the main set and another 2 in the encore. In between most songs, the drummer played to fill the gaps before Rzeznick would launch into another familiar opening riff for old hits like “Dizzy,” “Slide,” “Black Balloon,” “Name,” “Broadway,” and “Iris.” The Goo Goo Dolls also played several songs from their newest album “Magnetic.” Rzeznick’s vocals were on point and sounded just like on their albums. Like always, Takac is hard not to watch the whole show. He has so much energy and always seems to be smiling.

This was a really great show with 3 fun bands that really kicked the holiday weekend off right.

Don’t forget to “like” us on facebook and follow us on twitter for live updates from shows and to see what shows we’ll be covering next!

Set List

Download songs from this set list by clicking the iTunes icon!

  1. Baptized
  2. Feels Like Tonight
  3. Over You
  4. Renegade
  5. Traitor
  6. It's Not Over
  7. Outta My Head
  8. What About Now
  9. Wild Heart
  10. Battleships
  11. Home
  12. September Encore:
  13. Waiting for Superman
  14. Long Live Rock & Roll

Find out more about Daughtry