Coheed and Cambria

Photos and review by Merideth C.

Coheed and Cambria played an epic show on Tuesday night at The Fillmore in Detroit. Billed as the “Neverender IKSSE:3 Tour,” Coheed played through their entire seminal second studio album “In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3.” This album is a favorite among fans who were packed into the venue. The progressive metal sound of Coheed and Cambria is one that brings out almost rabid devotion. When a single spotlight lit up an old ringing phone on a stool in the middle of the stage, the crowd went absolutely insane. A big image of The Keywork (a logo that symbolizes the energy stream between the planets in Coheed and Cambria's fictional universe) lit up above the stage as the band launched into the title track. The crowd roared with approval.

I’ve probably said before that a previous crowd was the loudest I had ever heard at a show, but this one takes the cake. Fans sang along with every single song that was played and never quieted. I could genuinely not hear lead singer Claudio Sanchez’s vocals for most of the show. The fans were part of the band that night.

As always, Sanchez’s hair was a sight to behold. It was huge and completely covered his face and shoulders for most of the show. He only pulled it back for a short time later in the evening. After finishing with an encore of the final track of the album, 21:13, the band came back for 2 additional encores. The first included “Neverender” from their first album “The Second Stage Turbine Blade” and 2 tracks from their latest 2 albums: “Goodnight, Fair Lady” from “The Aftermath: Ascension” and “Number City” from “The Aftermath: Descension” which featured members from the horn section of the opening act, Thank You Scientist. The second encore included “The Lying Lies & Dirty Secrets of Miss Erica Court,” “Ten Speed (Of God's Blood & Burial),” and “Welcome Home” from “Good Apollo I’m Burning Star IV Volume One: From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness.”

Sanchez sounded great when you could hear him and had awesome presence. He brought out the double necked guitar for some songs and was shredding on some extended solos. He even played with the guitar behind his back and with his teeth at times. If you are a fan of Coheed, you really blew it if you weren’t at the show. Seeing them live was really phenomenal.

Don’t forget to “like” us on facebook and follow us on twitter for live updates from shows and to see what shows we’ll be covering next!

Set List

Download songs from this set list by clicking the iTunes icon!

  1. The Ring in Return
  2. In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3
  3. Cuts Marked in the March of Men
  4. Three Evils (Embodied in Love and Shadow)
  5. The Crowing
  6. Blood Red Summer
  7. The Camper Velourium I: Faint of Hearts
  8. The Camper Velourium II: Backend of Forever
  9. The Camper Velourium III: Al the Killer
  10. A Favor House Atlantic
  11. The Light & the Glass Encore 1:
  12. 21:13 Encore 2:
  13. Neverender
  14. Goodnight Fair Lady
  15. Number City Encore 3:
  16. The Lying Lies & Dirty Secrets of Miss Erica Court
  17. Ten Speed (Of God's Blood & Burial)
  18. Welcome Home

Find out more about Coheed and Cambria